StartseiteGruppenForumMehrZeitgeist
Web-Site durchsuchen
Diese Seite verwendet Cookies für unsere Dienste, zur Verbesserung unserer Leistungen, für Analytik und (falls Sie nicht eingeloggt sind) für Werbung. Indem Sie LibraryThing nutzen, erklären Sie dass Sie unsere Nutzungsbedingungen und Datenschutzrichtlinie gelesen und verstanden haben. Die Nutzung unserer Webseite und Dienste unterliegt diesen Richtlinien und Geschäftsbedingungen.
Hide this

Ergebnisse von Google Books

Auf ein Miniaturbild klicken, um zu Google Books zu gelangen.

God, No!: Signs You May Already Be an…
Lädt ...

God, No!: Signs You May Already Be an Atheist and Other Magical Tales (2012. Auflage)

von Penn Jillette

MitgliederRezensionenBeliebtheitDurchschnittliche BewertungDiskussionen
4993237,177 (3.28)11
The outspoken half of magic duo Penn & Teller presents an atheist reinterpretation of the Ten Commandments, discussing why doubt, skepticism, and wonder should be celebrated and offering humorous stories from his own experiences.
Mitglied:hayduke
Titel:God, No!: Signs You May Already Be an Atheist and Other Magical Tales
Autoren:Penn Jillette
Info:Simon & Schuster (2012), Paperback, 256 pages
Sammlungen:Noch zu lesen
Bewertung:
Tags:Keine

Werk-Details

God, No!: Signs You May Already Be an Atheist and Other Magical Tales von Penn Jillette

Lädt ...

Melde dich bei LibraryThing an um herauszufinden, ob du dieses Buch mögen würdest.

It's hard to explain why I read this book. I can't say it offers much. While Penn talks at some length about his being an atheist, it isn't about offering a persuasive argument discussing the logic of his beliefs. It's really more of a book about Jillette, some of his life experiences, family and friends, interwoven, often in loud and profane terms, about his disregard for religion. True, there are some interesting and amusing stories thrown in, but I'm sure I could have picked up a lot of other funnier, and more interesting books.

( )
  rsutto22 | Jul 15, 2021 |
I picked this up because I love Penn and Tellers Bullshit, and feel very strongly about skepticism and atheism. Penn Jillette gets high praise from artists and skeptic bloggers alike, and doesn't hide his skeptical agenda. I was very excited to read this.

That's what makes this book such a shame. While there are parts that are genuinely hilarious or poignant, the vast, vast majority is Penn bragging about all his money or all the pussy he gets (understandable, I suppose, but uninteresting and grating), or show what a reprehensible human being he is. One chapter is devoted to objectifying women, discussing how tits are awesome and detailing having sex while scuba diving (with copious use of the C-word, btw). It just came off as mysogynistic and empty. He later brags about threatening a female social worker. He asked her to lie. She refused. As a health care worker I sympathize with her: often you are forced to make hard choices, and people will often ask you to do things that will cost your job and/or freedom. Penn threatens her with physical violence and beams over the outcome. These specific examples are meatballs, layered over a plate of generic bigoted, hateful spaghetti. For someone who relishes pointing out logical fallacies, he certainly clings to fallacies and stereotypes heavily himself.

I wish I never picked up this book, because I think I'm done with P&T now. ( )
  kaitlynn_g | Dec 13, 2020 |
I really don't know what to say about this book! I'm going to go see Penn & Teller next week (I hope) and I find Penn very entertaining, even though we don't see eye-to-eye on everything.

I was definitely entertained by reading this book.

As a warning, every other word is the *F* word and there is a lot of sex in this book. Just sayin'. I knew that when I picked it up. I think this book would offend some readers. Not much offends me, although I personally couldn't write a book like this. Apparently I can READ a book like this, though.

I was still entertained.

I think it's supposed to have a theme. I think the theme is atheism; however, it's mostly just a hodgepodge of stories of Penn's life, some funny, some not, some pertaining to atheism, some not. Let's just say it's more "magical tales" than "signs you may already be an atheist".

It is what it is. I'm still looking forward to Vegas!!!!

*******

Afterword - Went to Vegas. Shook Penn's hand and told him my husband and I read his book! Haven't done that to very many authors. Then I put a $20 in a penny slot machine, hit max bet, and instantly won $100.00. Ordered a drink. Yes, it was Vegas. (And as you can tell, I'm a high roller!) ( )
  Chica3000 | Dec 11, 2020 |
Though overall I liked the book, there were parts of it that I disagreed with Mr. Jillette. I suppose that is not a bad thing in the great scheme of things. The one thing that turned me off was his view that people, all of them (or the great majority) are good. It is something I disagree with because I believe the opposite: people overall are selfish, and if they have a chance to screw others over they will. All I have to do, in addition to point to various despots, tyrants, and dictators and those who enabled them is point to the unethical banking and finance bastards who pretty much ruined the economy in 2008, from which we are still reeling? Does anybody think those people were good? Hell no. They were motivated by greed and self-interest, and damn everybody else. And that is where I often part ways with Libertarians, when they pretty much embrace the "everybody for himself" mentality. I happen to believe things like good social nets and taking care of each other are good things. Contrary to the Libertarian belief, no, churches are just not enough, nor will they never be enough. Do I think government is perfect? Far from it, but it is necessary if for no other reason than to curb the worse excesses of greedy assholes in civilized society. But let me get away from the digression, because that point aside, this is overall a very good book worth reading.

Mr. Jillette rants, but he can also write pretty well. He can be funny, and he can be moving at times. Those moving passages really bring the reader in and serve to show that the magician and skeptic is a humane person. The story of how he cares for his parents as their health deteriorates, especially his father, is quite a moving statement. He does care for others overall, even if we disagree at times on how to accomplish some things. He makes people think as well. Then, there are the funny things such as having sex while scuba diving and hanging out with Ron Jeremy, who should likely run for President of the U.S. Worth reading as well.

The book is a combination of commentary and biography/memoir. Mr. Jillette goes over the Ten Commandments, the offers the Ten Atheist Suggestions. In between those segments, he tells stories, anecdotes, and commentaries on various issues that help to illustrate some of his suggestions. They also make for entertaining reading. And for all that some people may say that atheists are arrogant, his simple, "I don't know" is quite the expression of humility. Something to ponder about.

Fans of Penn & Teller as well as fans of Mr. Jillette's solo work will probably enjoy this book. I know I did, even as I disagreed on some things, I did agree on others. In the end, that may be part of a good conversation, being able to agree to disagree at times. This is a very good book that I think atheists and non-believers will like. Plus, I think a believer here and there may get something out of it as well.
( )
  bloodravenlib | Aug 17, 2020 |
Penn Jillette is a nut, really he says it several times throughout this book. Penn is outspoken and has non-traditional views. God no is a nice glimpse into those views all presented through stories of Penn's life. Penn is also not trying to convert anyone to atheism but instead points out many entertaining facts about faith, science, and god as well as a fun look into show business.

I found this book funny and entertaining but have to warn people that there is a lot of foul language and sexual content throughout the book. ( )
  Shack70 | Feb 23, 2020 |
keine Rezensionen | Rezension hinzufügen
Du musst dich einloggen, um "Wissenswertes" zu bearbeiten.
Weitere Hilfe gibt es auf der "Wissenswertes"-Hilfe-Seite.
Gebräuchlichster Titel
Originaltitel
Alternative Titel
Ursprüngliches Erscheinungsdatum
Figuren/Charaktere
Die Informationen stammen von der englischen "Wissenswertes"-Seite. Ändern, um den Eintrag der eigenen Sprache anzupassen.
Wichtige Schauplätze
Die Informationen stammen von der englischen "Wissenswertes"-Seite. Ändern, um den Eintrag der eigenen Sprache anzupassen.
Wichtige Ereignisse
Zugehörige Filme
Preise und Auszeichnungen
Die Informationen stammen von der englischen "Wissenswertes"-Seite. Ändern, um den Eintrag der eigenen Sprache anzupassen.
Epigraph (Motto/Zitat)
Widmung
Die Informationen stammen von der englischen "Wissenswertes"-Seite. Ändern, um den Eintrag der eigenen Sprache anzupassen.
EZ
Mox
Zz
Erste Worte
Die Informationen stammen von der englischen "Wissenswertes"-Seite. Ändern, um den Eintrag der eigenen Sprache anzupassen.
YOU MAY ALREADY BE AN ATHEIST!
Zitate
Letzte Worte
Die Informationen stammen von der englischen "Wissenswertes"-Seite. Ändern, um den Eintrag der eigenen Sprache anzupassen.
Hinweis zur Identitätsklärung
Verlagslektoren
Klappentexte von
Die Informationen stammen von der englischen "Wissenswertes"-Seite. Ändern, um den Eintrag der eigenen Sprache anzupassen.
Originalsprache
Die Informationen stammen von der englischen "Wissenswertes"-Seite. Ändern, um den Eintrag der eigenen Sprache anzupassen.
Anerkannter DDC/MDS

Literaturhinweise zu diesem Werk aus externen Quellen.

Wikipedia auf Englisch (2)

The outspoken half of magic duo Penn & Teller presents an atheist reinterpretation of the Ten Commandments, discussing why doubt, skepticism, and wonder should be celebrated and offering humorous stories from his own experiences.

Keine Bibliotheksbeschreibungen gefunden.

Buchbeschreibung
Zusammenfassung in Haiku-Form

Gespeicherte Links

Beliebte Umschlagbilder

Bewertung

Durchschnitt: (3.28)
0.5
1 5
1.5
2 14
2.5 4
3 52
3.5 7
4 42
4.5 1
5 8

Bist das du?

Werde ein LibraryThing-Autor.

 

Über uns | Kontakt/Impressum | LibraryThing.com | Datenschutz/Nutzungsbedingungen | Hilfe/FAQs | Blog | LT-Shop | APIs | TinyCat | Nachlassbibliotheken | Vorab-Rezensenten | Wissenswertes | 160,274,609 Bücher! | Menüleiste: Immer sichtbar