StartseiteGruppenForumMehrZeitgeist
Web-Site durchsuchen
Diese Seite verwendet Cookies für unsere Dienste, zur Verbesserung unserer Leistungen, für Analytik und (falls Sie nicht eingeloggt sind) für Werbung. Indem Sie LibraryThing nutzen, erklären Sie dass Sie unsere Nutzungsbedingungen und Datenschutzrichtlinie gelesen und verstanden haben. Die Nutzung unserer Webseite und Dienste unterliegt diesen Richtlinien und Geschäftsbedingungen.
Hide this

Ergebnisse von Google Books

Auf ein Miniaturbild klicken, um zu Google Books zu gelangen.

Midshipman's Hope (Traveller's Bookshelf)…
Lädt ...

Midshipman's Hope (Traveller's Bookshelf) (Original 1994; 1994. Auflage)

von David Feintuch

Reihen: Seafort Saga (1)

MitgliederRezensionenBeliebtheitDurchschnittliche BewertungDiskussionen
8001221,183 (3.67)18
First in the military science fiction series that does "an excellent job of transferring Hornblower to interstellar space. A thoroughly enjoyable read" (David Drake). In the year 2194, seventeen-year-old Nicholas Seafort is assigned to the Hibernia as a lowly midshipman. Destination: the thriving colony of Hope Nation. But when a rescue attempt goes devastatingly wrong, Seafort is thrust into a leadership role he never anticipated. The other officers resent him, but Seafort must handle more dangerous problems, from a corrupted navigation computer to a deadly epidemic. Even Hope Nation has a nasty surprise in store. Seafort might be the crew's only hope . . .   This page-turning science fiction in the vein of Robert Heinlein and Orson Scott Card--with a dash of Horatio Hornblower--marks the captivating debut adventure in Feintuch's hugely popular Seafort Saga.… (mehr)
Mitglied:Darla
Titel:Midshipman's Hope (Traveller's Bookshelf)
Autoren:David Feintuch
Info:Aspect (1994), Paperback
Sammlungen:Deine Bibliothek
Bewertung:*****
Tags:science fiction, military, action/adventure, series, fiction

Werk-Details

Sternenkadett Nick Seafort von David Feintuch (1994)

Lädt ...

Melde dich bei LibraryThing an um herauszufinden, ob du dieses Buch mögen würdest.

Lent to me by a friend

A long time since I have read sci fi

A rollicking read

Has encouraged me to go and try the c s forester series tonwhich it appears to have some resemblance

Big ship

21 August 2017 ( )
  bigship | Aug 21, 2017 |
This book is the first in a (too) long series about a man who rises through the interstellar navy due to circumstance and random opportunity. This book was a fun read, but do not go into it expecting much depth or intellectual thought. Taken for what it is, a fun sci fi novel, its a good one. ( )
  Hexum2600 | Feb 28, 2014 |
A fun, if a bit heavy transposition of the traditional British seagoing novel into a spacefleet of the future. A fascinating comparison to the Starfleet universe. ( )
  verbafacio | Apr 21, 2013 |
The cover blurb says this book is

In the triumphant tradition of Starship Troopers and Ender's Game

I disagree. Midshipman's Hope is nothing like either of those books, other than being military science fiction. What Midshipman's Hope is really like is Mr. Midshipman Hornblower or Master and Commander. Each of these works is about the Napoleonic British navy, and tell the tale of a young lad who grows to the fullness of command through daring and luck.

Feintuch's favorite period is apparently the Victorian, however. Whereas the Napoleonic navy offered plentiful opportunities for glory and treasure, the Victorians bestrode the world like a colossus, and consequently their navy had glorious traditions, but little to do other than swab the deck one more time. Enter Nicholas Seafort, first middy of the Hibernia. Space travel manages to be even slower than sail, with voyages of up to 18 months between worlds. This provides ample time to polish the bulkheads and study regulations.

The United Nations world government is a firm ally of the Yahwehist Reunification Church, a rather toothless low church version of the Church of England. While blasphemy is officially a capital offense, it is rarely invoked. In fact, the Reunion Church is broadly tolerant, not only of other sects, but also of every sexual vice and hedonistic practice imaginable, with the exception of carelessly procreating and smoking tobacco. Is is refreshing to see a reminder in fiction that theocratic societies aren't uniformly grim and repressive, but in fact can run the gamut from laxity to strictness.

The central psychological drama comes from Seafort's own rather Puritan upbringing. He is grim, loyal to a fault, and incapable of breaking an oath. This makes him simultaneously fascinating, and a bit depressing. Through a series of misadventures, Nick finds himself in command of the Hibernia, and he manages to do more right than wrong as Captain. But he cannot forgive himself for his failures, or sometimes even for his successes. Nick has no greater critic than himself, and in space, you have far too much time inside your own head.

There are not quite as many books in this series as either Hornblower or the Aubrey-Maturin collections, but 7 books should be enough to keep most people occupied for a while, if you can stand Nick Seafort. ( )
1 abstimmen bespen | Apr 4, 2013 |
The first time I picked this up I was just a young teenager who loved Science Fiction, but I didn't have the stomach for the story at the time. I was used to Hardy Boys and Star Trek novels. Books that had very straight forward morality and 90 percent of the time ended exactly how I knew they would. This book threw me for a loop.

But, when I went back and started it again, a few years later, I found that it is an engaging story that never shies away from an uncomfortable topic, from cancer (albeit cancer in the future) to unfaithfulness, to the fun stuff (mechanical/science fiction geeky fun and explosions at inopportune times). ( )
1 abstimmen DanieXJ | Mar 17, 2012 |
keine Rezensionen | Rezension hinzufügen

» Andere Autoren hinzufügen (1 möglich)

AutorennameRolleArt des AutorsWerk?Status
David FeintuchHauptautoralle Ausgabenberechnet
Puckey, DonUmschlaggestalterCo-Autoreinige Ausgabenbestätigt
Youll, StephenUmschlagillustrationCo-Autoreinige Ausgabenbestätigt
Du musst dich einloggen, um "Wissenswertes" zu bearbeiten.
Weitere Hilfe gibt es auf der "Wissenswertes"-Hilfe-Seite.
Gebräuchlichster Titel
Originaltitel
Alternative Titel
Ursprüngliches Erscheinungsdatum
Figuren/Charaktere
Wichtige Schauplätze
Wichtige Ereignisse
Zugehörige Filme
Preise und Auszeichnungen
Epigraph (Motto/Zitat)
Die erste Reise von Nicholas Seafort mit der U. N. S. Hibernia, 12. Oktober im Jahre unseres Herrn 2194
Widmung
Für Ragtime Rick aus Toledo, und für Ardath Mayhar, der es möglich machte, und für Jettie, um derentwillen es sich lohnt
Erste Worte
"Achtung!" brüllte ich, aber es war zu spät. Gerade als Alexi und Sandy Haltung annahmen, kamen die beiden Seniorleutnants der Hibernia um die Ecke spaziert.
Zitate
Letzte Worte
Die Informationen stammen von der englischen "Wissenswertes"-Seite. Ändern, um den Eintrag der eigenen Sprache anzupassen.
(Zum Anzeigen anklicken. Warnung: Enthält möglicherweise Spoiler.)
Hinweis zur Identitätsklärung
Verlagslektoren
Werbezitate von
Originalsprache
Anerkannter DDC/MDS
Anerkannter LCC

Literaturhinweise zu diesem Werk aus externen Quellen.

Wikipedia auf Englisch

Keine

First in the military science fiction series that does "an excellent job of transferring Hornblower to interstellar space. A thoroughly enjoyable read" (David Drake). In the year 2194, seventeen-year-old Nicholas Seafort is assigned to the Hibernia as a lowly midshipman. Destination: the thriving colony of Hope Nation. But when a rescue attempt goes devastatingly wrong, Seafort is thrust into a leadership role he never anticipated. The other officers resent him, but Seafort must handle more dangerous problems, from a corrupted navigation computer to a deadly epidemic. Even Hope Nation has a nasty surprise in store. Seafort might be the crew's only hope . . .   This page-turning science fiction in the vein of Robert Heinlein and Orson Scott Card--with a dash of Horatio Hornblower--marks the captivating debut adventure in Feintuch's hugely popular Seafort Saga.

Keine Bibliotheksbeschreibungen gefunden.

Buchbeschreibung
Zusammenfassung in Haiku-Form

Beliebte Umschlagbilder

Gespeicherte Links

Bewertung

Durchschnitt: (3.67)
0.5 1
1 4
1.5 4
2 12
2.5 3
3 28
3.5 11
4 53
4.5 6
5 33

Bist das du?

Werde ein LibraryThing-Autor.

Hachette Book Group

Eine Ausgabe dieses Buches wurde Hachette Book Group herausgegeben.

» Verlagsinformations-Seite

 

Über uns | Kontakt/Impressum | LibraryThing.com | Datenschutz/Nutzungsbedingungen | Hilfe/FAQs | Blog | LT-Shop | APIs | TinyCat | Nachlassbibliotheken | Vorab-Rezensenten | Wissenswertes | 163,468,765 Bücher! | Menüleiste: Immer sichtbar