StartseiteGruppenForumStöbernZeitgeist
Web-Site durchsuchen
Diese Seite verwendet Cookies für unsere Dienste, zur Verbesserung unserer Leistungen, für Analytik und (falls Sie nicht eingeloggt sind) für Werbung. Indem Sie LibraryThing nutzen, erklären Sie dass Sie unsere Nutzungsbedingungen und Datenschutzrichtlinie gelesen und verstanden haben. Die Nutzung unserer Webseite und Dienste unterliegt diesen Richtlinien und Geschäftsbedingungen.
Hide this

Ergebnisse von Google Books

Auf ein Miniaturbild klicken, um zu Google Books zu gelangen.

Lädt ...

Maisie Dobbs - Verzeihliche Lügen. Englands erste Detektivin…

von Jacqueline Winspear

Weitere Autoren: Siehe Abschnitt Weitere Autoren.

Reihen: Maisie Dobbs (3)

MitgliederRezensionenBeliebtheitDurchschnittliche BewertungDiskussionen
2,0981005,990 (3.9)243
A deathbed plea from his wife leads Sir Cecil Lawton to seek the aid of Maisie Dobbs, psychologist and investigator. As Maisie soon learns, Agnes Lawton never accepted that her aviator son was killed in the Great War, a torment that led her not only to the edge of madness but to the doors of those who practice the dark arts and commune with the spirit world. In accepting the assignment, Maisie finds her spiritual strength tested, as well as her regard for her mentor, Maurice Blanche. The mission also brings her together once again with her college friend Priscilla Evernden, who served in France and who lost three brothers to the war-one of whom, it turns out, had an intriguing connection to the missing Ralph Lawton. Following on the heels of the triumphant Birds of a Feather, Pardonable lies is the most compelling installment yet in the chronicles of Maisie Dobbs.… (mehr)
Kürzlich hinzugefügt vonJFB87, minkscat, JoeB1934
Lädt ...

Melde dich bei LibraryThing an um herauszufinden, ob du dieses Buch mögen würdest.

Maisie Dobbs is asked to travel to France, to confirm the death in WWI of an aviator whose dying mother believed that he had lived and whose father promised one last search on her deathbed. At the same time, Maisie’s good friend Priscilla asks her to try to uncover the truth of the death of her beloved older brother, also during the war. And if that was not enough, there’s a young girl charged with murdering a man in London who cannot remember what she might have done….This third book in the Maisie Dobbs series takes us back once again to France in the Great War, but this time Maisie’s connection to the past is far more personal, and visceral. She needs to reconcile with the past before she can move on into her future, and the journey is far from easy. I’m really enjoying discovering these novels, which carry much more psychological depth than the typical historical mystery series, and I’m looking forward to reading much more to come; recommended. ( )
  thefirstalicat | Jan 2, 2022 |
Engaging though I did wince at the sensitive non sport playing son being gay. Sigh... ( )
  Stephen.Lawton | Aug 7, 2021 |
In 1930 Sir Cecil Lawton approaches Maisie Dobbs so that he can fulfil a deathbed promise made to his wife. She believes that their son who died in the war is alive, Sir Cecil wants Maisie to prove that he is dead. And so Maisie returns to the area of her WWI memories to resolve the mystery of the pilot's death. But what else will she reveal.
An interesting and enjoyable well-written story ( )
  Vesper1931 | Jul 29, 2021 |
The cases for Maisie Dobbs in this edition revolve around the idea of daughters losing their mothers, a father who wants his son to be really dead and a sister wishing to find her dear brother's final resting place. What I like about these stories is that the threads being woven aren't seen at first and become more appartent as the story goes on. Maisie has to go back to France in her quest for answers and to confront her horrors about the war that finished her girlhood and lost her first love. ( )
  Angel.Tatum.Craddock | Dec 17, 2020 |
Maisie Dobbs, book 3. I’m reading this series out loud to/with a friend.

This one seemed to have less humor than the first two books in the series, but it did have some, and it seemed to have a lot more intrigue, and intricate and fun multiple mysteries. I love the shades of gray in these books, with the characters and with their circumstances. There isn’t a lot of black and white, nor are there definite heroes and villains. I really appreciate that.

I’m thoroughly enjoying this series but now associate it with reading out loud to/with this one particular friend. We are reading them really, really slowly. I have book 5 as a loaner from another friend which will be great because so far they’ve been Kindle e-books from the library and not renewable and there has been a wait to get each book back each time. Now waiting for book 4 for the first of likely multiple check outs.

At the end of the book proper this edition has the Acknowledgements section and a short author bio, and also an interview with the author and discussion questions. These books are great discussion books.

I’m glad that I’m finally reading this series. I really like it.

4-1/2 stars ( )
  Lisa2013 | Oct 12, 2020 |
Fans of Miss Marple and Precious Ramotswe are sure to embrace Maisie, a pitch-perfect blend of compassion and panache
hinzugefügt von khuggard | bearbeitenBooklist
 
A thought-provoking series entry, the story contains revelations of secret missions, homosexuality, the lives of persons from all layers of society, and a winning heroine who is not perfect and is willing to learn from her mistakes
hinzugefügt von khuggard | bearbeitenSchool Library Journal
 
Winspear writes seamlessly, enriching the whole with vivid details of English life on a variety of social levels.
hinzugefügt von khuggard | bearbeitenPublishers Weekly
 

» Andere Autoren hinzufügen (6 möglich)

AutorennameRolleArt des AutorsWerk?Status
Winspear, JacquelineHauptautoralle Ausgabenbestätigt
Bronswijk, Ineke vanÜbersetzerCo-Autoreinige Ausgabenbestätigt
Davidson, AndrewUmschlagillustrationCo-Autoreinige Ausgabenbestätigt
Jaramillo, RaquelUmschlaggestalterCo-Autoreinige Ausgabenbestätigt

Gehört zur Reihe

Gehört zu Verlagsreihen

rororo (24325)
Du musst dich einloggen, um "Wissenswertes" zu bearbeiten.
Weitere Hilfe gibt es auf der "Wissenswertes"-Hilfe-Seite.
Gebräuchlichster Titel
Die Informationen stammen von der englischen "Wissenswertes"-Seite. Ändern, um den Eintrag der eigenen Sprache anzupassen.
Originaltitel
Alternative Titel
Ursprüngliches Erscheinungsdatum
Figuren/Charaktere
Die Informationen stammen von der englischen "Wissenswertes"-Seite. Ändern, um den Eintrag der eigenen Sprache anzupassen.
Wichtige Schauplätze
Die Informationen stammen von der englischen "Wissenswertes"-Seite. Ändern, um den Eintrag der eigenen Sprache anzupassen.
Wichtige Ereignisse
Die Informationen stammen von der englischen "Wissenswertes"-Seite. Ändern, um den Eintrag der eigenen Sprache anzupassen.
Zugehörige Filme
Preise und Auszeichnungen
Die Informationen stammen von der englischen "Wissenswertes"-Seite. Ändern, um den Eintrag der eigenen Sprache anzupassen.
Epigraph (Motto/Zitat)
Die Informationen stammen von der englischen "Wissenswertes"-Seite. Ändern, um den Eintrag der eigenen Sprache anzupassen.
Truly, to tell lies is not honorable;
but when the truth entails tremendous ruin,
to speak dishonorably is pardonable.

--Sophocles (c. 496-406 B.C.), Creusa
Pile the bodies high at Austerlitz and Waterloo.
Shovel them under and let me work--
I am the grass; I cover all.
And pile them high at Gettysburg
And pile them high at Ypres and Verdun.
Shovel them under and let me work.
Two years, ten years, and passengers ask the conductor:
What place is this?
Where are we now?

I am the grass.
Let me work.

--Carl Sandburg (1878-1967), Grass
Widmung
Die Informationen stammen von der englischen "Wissenswertes"-Seite. Ändern, um den Eintrag der eigenen Sprache anzupassen.
For Anne-Marie
With much love and gratitude
for our lifetime friendship.
Erste Worte
Die Informationen stammen von der englischen "Wissenswertes"-Seite. Ändern, um den Eintrag der eigenen Sprache anzupassen.
The young policewoman stood in the corner of the room.
Zitate
Letzte Worte
Die Informationen stammen von der englischen "Wissenswertes"-Seite. Ändern, um den Eintrag der eigenen Sprache anzupassen.
Hinweis zur Identitätsklärung
Verlagslektoren
Werbezitate von
Die Informationen stammen von der englischen "Wissenswertes"-Seite. Ändern, um den Eintrag der eigenen Sprache anzupassen.
Originalsprache
Anerkannter DDC/MDS
Anerkannter LCC

Literaturhinweise zu diesem Werk aus externen Quellen.

Wikipedia auf Englisch

Keine

A deathbed plea from his wife leads Sir Cecil Lawton to seek the aid of Maisie Dobbs, psychologist and investigator. As Maisie soon learns, Agnes Lawton never accepted that her aviator son was killed in the Great War, a torment that led her not only to the edge of madness but to the doors of those who practice the dark arts and commune with the spirit world. In accepting the assignment, Maisie finds her spiritual strength tested, as well as her regard for her mentor, Maurice Blanche. The mission also brings her together once again with her college friend Priscilla Evernden, who served in France and who lost three brothers to the war-one of whom, it turns out, had an intriguing connection to the missing Ralph Lawton. Following on the heels of the triumphant Birds of a Feather, Pardonable lies is the most compelling installment yet in the chronicles of Maisie Dobbs.

Keine Bibliotheksbeschreibungen gefunden.

Buchbeschreibung
Zusammenfassung in Haiku-Form

Beliebte Umschlagbilder

Gespeicherte Links

Bewertung

Durchschnitt: (3.9)
0.5
1 1
1.5 2
2 14
2.5 7
3 141
3.5 69
4 330
4.5 30
5 135

Bist das du?

Werde ein LibraryThing-Autor.

 

Über uns | Kontakt/Impressum | LibraryThing.com | Datenschutz/Nutzungsbedingungen | Hilfe/FAQs | Blog | LT-Shop | APIs | TinyCat | Nachlassbibliotheken | Vorab-Rezensenten | Wissenswertes | 166,257,196 Bücher! | Menüleiste: Immer sichtbar