StartseiteGruppenForumStöbernZeitgeist
Web-Site durchsuchen
Diese Seite verwendet Cookies für unsere Dienste, zur Verbesserung unserer Leistungen, für Analytik und (falls Sie nicht eingeloggt sind) für Werbung. Indem Sie LibraryThing nutzen, erklären Sie dass Sie unsere Nutzungsbedingungen und Datenschutzrichtlinie gelesen und verstanden haben. Die Nutzung unserer Webseite und Dienste unterliegt diesen Richtlinien und Geschäftsbedingungen.
Hide this

Ergebnisse von Google Books

Auf ein Miniaturbild klicken, um zu Google Books zu gelangen.

Behind Her Eyes: A Suspenseful Psychological…
Lädt ...

Behind Her Eyes: A Suspenseful Psychological Thriller (2018. Auflage)

von Sarah Pinborough (Autor)

MitgliederRezensionenBeliebtheitDurchschnittliche BewertungDiskussionen
1,42314110,039 (3.65)53
"Only two can keep a secret if one of them is dead. David and Adele seem like the ideal pair. He's a successful psychiatrist, she is his picture-perfect wife who adores him. But why is he so controlling? And why is she keeping things hidden? As Louise, David's new secretary, is drawn into their orbit, she uncovers more puzzling questions than answers. The only thing that is crystal clear is that something in this marriage is very, very wrong. But Louise can't guess how wrong--and how far a person might go to protect their marriage's secrets. "--"Destined to the the blockbuster book of 2017, Behind Her Eyes is a psychological thriller with a to-die-for twist for fans of Luckiest Girl Alive and Stephen King"--… (mehr)
Mitglied:OleyBrody
Titel:Behind Her Eyes: A Suspenseful Psychological Thriller
Autoren:Sarah Pinborough (Autor)
Info:Flatiron Books (2018), Edition: Reprint, 320 pages
Sammlungen:Deine Bibliothek
Bewertung:
Tags:Keine

Werk-Informationen

Behind Her Eyes von Sarah Pinborough

Lädt ...

Melde dich bei LibraryThing an um herauszufinden, ob du dieses Buch mögen würdest.

This is another page-turner that you cannot put down. If you were however looking for neat conclusion or real-life thrillers, this is not for you. The story has a strong paranormal theme.
I would categorize it as a thriller or horror story but not a psychological thriller, because what is at play here is clearly parapsychology and not real psychology. The plot is also driven by the incredible stupidity of one main character.

That said I cannot help but be impressed with the final reveal which I found brilliant. It perhaps shows that I am not such a discerning reader. I admit that I have a weakness for genre-bending stories with clever conclusions. This one is one of those even though the devices used might not be completely kosher. At the end of the day whether you love this book or you hate, the important thing is that you will surely remember it for years to come. This alone makes it merit a 3-star plus rating.
( )
  moukayedr | Sep 5, 2021 |
This one's a 3.5 rounded up to a 4.

It was solidly written, with a decent story. It was a touch too [b:Gone Girl|19288043|Gone Girl|Gillian Flynn|https://images.gr-assets.com/books/1397056917s/19288043.jpg|13306276] with all the manipulations, but I'm guessing that's going to be a trend for a bit yet.

To be quite honest, the ending--yes, the THAT ENDING! that everyone talks about--I had figured out long before it happened. I'm not saying this to brag, I'm saying this because I'm not the guy that figures out twist endings. And I saw this one coming a mile off.

To be quite honest, I was fine with all of it. But I felt a little cheated by the author at the end. I can't talk about it without entering into spoiler territory, so...

SPOILER

So, throughout the entire novel, we're treated to the inner thoughts of Adele, her machinations and her scheming, only to be only given her true voice--that of Rob, her body thief--when the whole Louise/Adele soul swap happens.

Sorry, but that's completely disingenuous on the part of the author. They even went as far as to have a male narrator for this chapter of the novel (the audiobook was narrated by a female throughout).

That's not cool. That's as bad as M. Night Shyamalan making the kid freeze anytime a dead person is around, his breath fogging everywhere...except for when he's with dead guy Bruce Willis.
It's done solely to hide the twist at the end, and it's a cheap trick. Find a way around it, or don't do it.

Same here. Don't give me Rob's voice suddenly at the end when Rob was narrating half the fucking book.

END SPOILER

It's too bad. This book started out really well, and I was enjoying it, until it turned into a twisted Gone Girl story. ( )
  TobinElliott | Sep 3, 2021 |
I thoroughly enjoyed this book but that ending though! I actually only chose to read this book because of all the comments made about the ending and how unpredictable it was. They weren't lying! I did not see it coming! ( )
  samantha.brown | Aug 21, 2021 |
Louise, een alleenstaande moeder, ontmoet op een avondje uit David en valt als een blok voor de charmante man. Tot blijkt dat hij getrouwd is met de bloedmooie Adele. Na het weekend gaat Louise werken en maakt ze kennis met haar nieuwe baas… David. Kort nadien ontmoet ze ook zijn vrouw en merkt ze al snel op dat er één en ander grondig mis blijkt te zijn in het huwelijk. Louise wil weten wat en beseft niet dat ze daarmee een beerput opentrekt aan geheimen…

Wat jij niet ziet heeft een duistere omslag met het grotendeels zwarte stuk dat we zien, waar nog net de ogen van een vrouw doorheen komen piepen. De knaloranje letters trekken wel meteen de aandacht en de korte inhoud doet me een beetje denken aan Achter gesloten deuren van B.A. Paris. Het heeft er ietwat van weg en ik had zo het gevoel dat dit verhaal wat dezelfde toer ging opgaan, maar dat bleek niet helemaal correct te zijn….

Wat jij niet ziet van Sarah Pinborough is het eerste boek dat ik van haar lees. Ik rolde meteen in het verhaal en was onmiddellijk getriggerd door de drie personages waar dit verhaal om draait. Louise, de alleenstaande mama met een zoontje van 6 jaar die valt voor David, haar baas en getrouwd met Adele, die thuis het beste van zichzelf geeft door alles te doen wat David wilt. Koken, opruimen,… alleen lijkt hij het niet echt op te merken of te appreciëren. Je voelt al meteen de sympathie voor Adele die duidelijk te lijden heeft onder het huwelijk. We krijgen een inkijk in hun verleden door hoofdstukken in de ‘TOEN’ tijd. Je ziet Adele in een inrichting en er wordt gebruik gemaakt van een dagboek om één en ander uit te leggen. Kortom, het boek verveelde me geen moment! Door het voorwoord van de schrijfster door het WTF-ending niet te gaan spoilen voor andere lezers, was ik razend benieuwd naar het einde. Wat kon het toch zijn? Pas op de allerlaatste pagina’s komen we alles te weten. Je bent voor een dergelijk einde of niet. Ik vond het zelf wat vergezocht en ben er iets minder voor te vinden, het ligt minder in mijn straatje, maar het is iets dat ik nog niet eerder ben tegengekomen in andere verhalen dus qua originaliteit kan het wel tippen natuurlijk. Wat jij niet ziet van Sarah Pinborough heeft me aangenaam verrast en heeft me in sneltempo een boek van 400 bladzijden doen verslinden. Ik kan dus wel concluderen dat het een goede zet was om eraan te beginnen en om zeker nog eens een ander verhaal te gaan lezen van haar. Voor wat jij niet ziet geef ik een mooie score van 4 sterren.

https://elinevandm.wordpress.com/2021/07/06/wat-jij-niet-ziet-van-sarah-pinborou... ( )
  elinevandm | Aug 18, 2021 |
Liked the beginning but then the middle dragged for me. It felt like the “secret” was verrry drawn out. Didn’t connect well with any character, although I did like Adam. The ending was definitely too out there for me.

*I received a free copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.* ( )
  JaxlynLeigh | Jul 28, 2021 |
I really enjoyed reading your book. This deserves a lot of audience. Why don't you publish it in N0velStar?And they also have an on-going competition that you might want to join.
hinzugefügt von Gab_Cruz | bearbeitenreader
 

» Andere Autoren hinzufügen

AutorennameRolleArt des AutorsWerk?Status
Pinborough, SarahHauptautoralle Ausgabenbestätigt
Bentinck, AnnaErzählerCo-Autoreinige Ausgabenbestätigt
Dunn, JosieErzählerCo-Autoreinige Ausgabenbestätigt
Du musst dich einloggen, um "Wissenswertes" zu bearbeiten.
Weitere Hilfe gibt es auf der "Wissenswertes"-Hilfe-Seite.
Gebräuchlichster Titel
Die Informationen stammen von der englischen "Wissenswertes"-Seite. Ändern, um den Eintrag der eigenen Sprache anzupassen.
Originaltitel
Alternative Titel
Ursprüngliches Erscheinungsdatum
Figuren/Charaktere
Die Informationen stammen von der englischen "Wissenswertes"-Seite. Ändern, um den Eintrag der eigenen Sprache anzupassen.
Wichtige Schauplätze
Die Informationen stammen von der englischen "Wissenswertes"-Seite. Ändern, um den Eintrag der eigenen Sprache anzupassen.
Wichtige Ereignisse
Zugehörige Filme
Preise und Auszeichnungen
Die Informationen stammen von der englischen "Wissenswertes"-Seite. Ändern, um den Eintrag der eigenen Sprache anzupassen.
Epigraph (Motto/Zitat)
Die Informationen stammen von der englischen "Wissenswertes"-Seite. Ändern, um den Eintrag der eigenen Sprache anzupassen.
Three can keep a secret if two are dead.

—BENJAMIN FRANKLIN
Widmung
Die Informationen stammen von der englischen "Wissenswertes"-Seite. Ändern, um den Eintrag der eigenen Sprache anzupassen.
For Tasha.

Words just don't cover it. All I can say is thanks

for everything and the drinks are on me.
Erste Worte
Die Informationen stammen von der englischen "Wissenswertes"-Seite. Ändern, um den Eintrag der eigenen Sprache anzupassen.
Pinch myself and say I AM AWAKE once an hour.
Zitate
Letzte Worte
Die Informationen stammen von der englischen "Wissenswertes"-Seite. Ändern, um den Eintrag der eigenen Sprache anzupassen.
(Zum Anzeigen anklicken. Warnung: Enthält möglicherweise Spoiler.)
Hinweis zur Identitätsklärung
Verlagslektoren
Die Informationen stammen von der englischen "Wissenswertes"-Seite. Ändern, um den Eintrag der eigenen Sprache anzupassen.
Werbezitate von
Die Informationen stammen von der englischen "Wissenswertes"-Seite. Ändern, um den Eintrag der eigenen Sprache anzupassen.
Originalsprache
Anerkannter DDC/MDS
Anerkannter LCC

Literaturhinweise zu diesem Werk aus externen Quellen.

Wikipedia auf Englisch

Keine

"Only two can keep a secret if one of them is dead. David and Adele seem like the ideal pair. He's a successful psychiatrist, she is his picture-perfect wife who adores him. But why is he so controlling? And why is she keeping things hidden? As Louise, David's new secretary, is drawn into their orbit, she uncovers more puzzling questions than answers. The only thing that is crystal clear is that something in this marriage is very, very wrong. But Louise can't guess how wrong--and how far a person might go to protect their marriage's secrets. "--"Destined to the the blockbuster book of 2017, Behind Her Eyes is a psychological thriller with a to-die-for twist for fans of Luckiest Girl Alive and Stephen King"--

Keine Bibliotheksbeschreibungen gefunden.

Buchbeschreibung
Zusammenfassung in Haiku-Form

Beliebte Umschlagbilder

Gespeicherte Links

Bewertung

Durchschnitt: (3.65)
0.5 1
1 18
1.5 1
2 33
2.5 13
3 90
3.5 23
4 152
4.5 11
5 91

Bist das du?

Werde ein LibraryThing-Autor.

 

Über uns | Kontakt/Impressum | LibraryThing.com | Datenschutz/Nutzungsbedingungen | Hilfe/FAQs | Blog | LT-Shop | APIs | TinyCat | Nachlassbibliotheken | Vorab-Rezensenten | Wissenswertes | 164,417,778 Bücher! | Menüleiste: Immer sichtbar