StartseiteGruppenForumMehrZeitgeist
Diese Seite verwendet Cookies für unsere Dienste, zur Verbesserung unserer Leistungen, für Analytik und (falls Sie nicht eingeloggt sind) für Werbung. Indem Sie LibraryThing nutzen, erklären Sie dass Sie unsere Nutzungsbedingungen und Datenschutzrichtlinie gelesen und verstanden haben. Die Nutzung unserer Webseite und Dienste unterliegt diesen Richtlinien und Geschäftsbedingungen.
Hide this

Ergebnisse von Google Books

Auf ein Miniaturbild klicken, um zu Google Books zu gelangen.

Lädt ...

Holding

von Graham Norton

MitgliederRezensionenBeliebtheitDurchschnittliche BewertungDiskussionen
3362657,155 (3.44)7
"From Graham Norton, the BAFTA-award-winning Irish television host and author of the "sparkling and impish" (Daily Mail) memoirs The Life and Loves of a He Devil and So Me, comes a charming debut novel set in an idyllic Irish village where a bumbling investigator has to sort through decades of gossip and secrets to solve a mysterious crime. The remote Irish village of Duneen has known little drama but when human remains are discovered on an old farm, suspected to be that of Tommy Burke--a former lover of two different inhabitants--the village's dark past begins to unravel. As the frustrated sergeant PJ Collins struggles to solve a genuine case for the first time in his life, he unearths a community's worth of anger and resentments, secrets and regret. In this darkly comic, touching, and at times heartbreaking novel, perfect for fans of J.K. Rowling's The Casual Vacancy, Graham Norton employs his acerbic wit to breathe life into a host of loveable characters, and explore--with searing honesty--the complexities and contradictions that make us human"--… (mehr)
Kürzlich hinzugefügt vonBookdragonette, private Bibliothek, giovannaz63, CarolBurrows, KathrynEastman, Fence, reader45, jenfried2001

Keine.

Lädt ...

Melde dich bei LibraryThing an um herauszufinden, ob du dieses Buch mögen würdest.

I really wanted to like this book.
I like Graham Norton, and his various incarnations of chat show host. He is always entertaining, and he comes across as, well, just plain nice. So when this was selected as my book club read for January I figured it would be a bit of light entertainment. I'd heard it wasn't a heavy or difficult book, so I was looking forward to it.
I didn't enjoy it.
It felt like a cross between a bad Maeve Binchy book and an episode of Murder She Wrote, with added Oirishness thrown in.
I almost stopped reading at when the first sec scene happened. It just came out of nowhere, and left me feeling that it was so preposterous that nothing else in the book needed to make sense. Also, the plot was very predictable. Everything was so sign-posted that you could see it coming from a mile off.
Plus it was set in a weird Ireland of the past, only modern. As though we're all still living the life we did 30, if not 40 years ago, as though society hasn't moved on and developed.
So that was disappointing. But, there were some good parts to it. There's a young girls first night out on the town that was well observed I thought. And if you think about the title and how many ways it could be interpreted by the characters and events in the books, that was well done. Are the characters being held back? Are they trapped in a holding pattern? Are they holding themselves back because of their memories, their past, and their preconceived ideas of who they are themselves.
So not a total waste, but not one I'd recommend. ( )
  Fence | Jan 5, 2021 |
Very, very enjoyable. ( )
  Teresa1966 | Dec 22, 2020 |
As an avid listener to the radio two podcast, I read the whole thing in GN’s voice in my head, which was delightful. I liked very much the characters of PJ and Mrs Meany, and I could ably picture the setting that the story was located in.
I figured out key elements of the plot before they were revealed in the story, but I don’t think that detracts from enjoyment. Maybe I’m just a smarty pants. Then again, maybe not.
I put this book down and instantly picked up “A Keeper” so I guess that says a lot about my enjoyment. ( )
  Vividrogers | Dec 20, 2020 |
A strong little sleepy village mystery novel. ( )
  therebelprince | Nov 15, 2020 |
Two years ago I found The Graham Norton Show on YouTube, and watched all the episodes and compilations and "best ofs" that I could find. When I discovered that Mr. Norton had written a novel, I bought it eagerly. Then it fell behind other books on my overloaded bookshelf and it was forgotten until a few weeks back when I decided to clear out the aforementioned shelves.

I don't know what I was expecting, but Holding is a lovely little book. Full of warmth and love for his Irish homeland, the book made me long for a plane ticket and a car to drive around the Emerald Isle. I spent a day in Dublin once, but I've not seen the countryside, at least I hadn't until I read this story.

Sergeant PJ Collins is stationed in Duneen, a small community in which nothing really happens, and where his job consists of directing traffic, and giving out speeding tickets. PJ is obese and horribly self-conscious. He's never had a wife or a family and he is lonely. Some new houses are being built just outside the village and a body of a young male is found. Some months later the body of an infant is found nearby. Suddenly PJ has a lot to do, and he learns that he can do it well. He also learns that despite his self-hatred that there are women who find him attractive, and so his confidence in his job and in his personal life soars.

Of course there are lots of twists and turns in the plot, some of them quite shocking, and I found myself impressed by how deft a hand Norton has at writing mysteries. More than anything he writes about people, and the events just tumble into one another as they do in real life. The book made me smile, and in one spot I teared up. It's a very good debut novel, and I know that there are two more, which I will also seek out. ( )
  ahef1963 | Sep 29, 2020 |
With a real affection for its flawed characters and their back stories, Holding is at times heartbreaking, at others snortingly funny.
hinzugefügt von Sylak | bearbeitenStylist [Issue 338], Amy Adams (Oct 12, 2016)
 
Du musst dich einloggen, um "Wissenswertes" zu bearbeiten.
Weitere Hilfe gibt es auf der "Wissenswertes"-Hilfe-Seite.
Gebräuchlichster Titel
Die Informationen stammen von der englischen "Wissenswertes"-Seite. Ändern, um den Eintrag der eigenen Sprache anzupassen.
Originaltitel
Alternative Titel
Ursprüngliches Erscheinungsdatum
Figuren/Charaktere
Wichtige Schauplätze
Wichtige Ereignisse
Zugehörige Filme
Preise und Auszeichnungen
Die Informationen stammen von der englischen "Wissenswertes"-Seite. Ändern, um den Eintrag der eigenen Sprache anzupassen.
Epigraph (Motto/Zitat)
Widmung
Für Rhoda - endlich eins, das du lesen kannst!
Erste Worte
Es war in der Einwohnerschaft von Duneen weitgehend akzeptiert, dass, sollte ein Verbrechen geschehen und es  Sergeant Collins gelingen, denTäter festzunehmen, dieser Verhaftung wohl kaum eine Verfolgung zu Fuß vorausginge.
Zitate
Letzte Worte
Hinweis zur Identitätsklärung
Verlagslektoren
Klappentexte von
Originalsprache
Anerkannter DDC/MDS

Literaturhinweise zu diesem Werk aus externen Quellen.

Wikipedia auf Englisch

Keine

"From Graham Norton, the BAFTA-award-winning Irish television host and author of the "sparkling and impish" (Daily Mail) memoirs The Life and Loves of a He Devil and So Me, comes a charming debut novel set in an idyllic Irish village where a bumbling investigator has to sort through decades of gossip and secrets to solve a mysterious crime. The remote Irish village of Duneen has known little drama but when human remains are discovered on an old farm, suspected to be that of Tommy Burke--a former lover of two different inhabitants--the village's dark past begins to unravel. As the frustrated sergeant PJ Collins struggles to solve a genuine case for the first time in his life, he unearths a community's worth of anger and resentments, secrets and regret. In this darkly comic, touching, and at times heartbreaking novel, perfect for fans of J.K. Rowling's The Casual Vacancy, Graham Norton employs his acerbic wit to breathe life into a host of loveable characters, and explore--with searing honesty--the complexities and contradictions that make us human"--

Keine Bibliotheksbeschreibungen gefunden.

Buchbeschreibung
Zusammenfassung in Haiku-Form

Gespeicherte Links

Beliebte Umschlagbilder

Bewertung

Durchschnitt: (3.44)
0.5
1 1
1.5 1
2 6
2.5 4
3 29
3.5 14
4 33
4.5 2
5 5

Bist das du?

Werde ein LibraryThing-Autor.

 

Über uns | Kontakt/Impressum | LibraryThing.com | Datenschutz/Nutzungsbedingungen | Hilfe/FAQs | Blog | "Gschäfterl" | APIs | TinyCat | Nachlassbibliotheken | Early Reviewers | Wissenswertes | 154,620,487 Bücher! | Menüleiste: Immer sichtbar