StartseiteGruppenForumMehrZeitgeist
Web-Site durchsuchen
Diese Seite verwendet Cookies für unsere Dienste, zur Verbesserung unserer Leistungen, für Analytik und (falls Sie nicht eingeloggt sind) für Werbung. Indem Sie LibraryThing nutzen, erklären Sie dass Sie unsere Nutzungsbedingungen und Datenschutzrichtlinie gelesen und verstanden haben. Die Nutzung unserer Webseite und Dienste unterliegt diesen Richtlinien und Geschäftsbedingungen.
Hide this

Ergebnisse von Google Books

Auf ein Miniaturbild klicken, um zu Google Books zu gelangen.

The Various Haunts of Men von Susan Hill
Lädt ...

The Various Haunts of Men (Original 2004; 2010. Auflage)

von Susan Hill

Reihen: Simon Serrailler (1)

MitgliederRezensionenBeliebtheitDurchschnittliche BewertungDiskussionen
1,1947612,511 (3.61)268
A woman vanishes in the fog up on 'the Hill', an area locally known for its tranquillity and peace. The police are not alarmed; people usually disappear for their own reasons. But when a young girl, an old man and even a dog disappear no one can deny that something untoward is happening in this quiet cathedral town. Young policewoman Freya Graffham is assigned to the case, she's new to the job, compassionate, inquisitive, dedicated and needs to know - perhaps too much.… (mehr)
Mitglied:vancouverdeb
Titel:The Various Haunts of Men
Autoren:Susan Hill
Info:Vintage Books (2010), Paperback, 576 pages
Sammlungen:Deine Bibliothek
Bewertung:****
Tags:mystery

Werk-Details

Der Menschen dunkles Sehnen von Susan Hill (2004)

Kürzlich hinzugefügt vonRennie80, cshalizi, usuallee, sam.e.jones, njcur, sarahemmm
NachlassbibliothekenLeslie Scalapino
Lädt ...

Melde dich bei LibraryThing an um herauszufinden, ob du dieses Buch mögen würdest.

I enjoyed this first of the series. I'm grateful to Ginny for pointing it out to me. I liked the characters, but was a bit startled towards the end. I'm not a fan of serial killers in my fiction, so I hope that future tales will have a different focus. I look forward to getting to know Simon Serrailler. Glad of the audiobook to let me know the pronunciation. ( )
  njcur | Sep 30, 2021 |
slow and confusing. ( )
  AnnaHernandez | Oct 17, 2019 |
It's such a treat to find that the first book in a nice long series is excellent! I had a hard time putting this one down, and ordered the next volume before I was even half through. Dark, yes, and with a gut-punch of a twist, but oh so good. ( )
  JBD1 | Apr 29, 2018 |
police
bumped into this when looking up Joe Hill.... very good. ( )
  kmajort | Feb 9, 2018 |
I mostly enjoyed this novel. I felt there were a lot of loose ends - what happened to the boy with leukaemia, for example, and the psychic surgeon. I also did get fed up of getting to know a character who was then killed off - particularly towards the end of the book. ( )
  AJBraithwaite | Aug 14, 2017 |
if you write this sort of novel, your readers will expect a process of discovery leading to a form of resolution, a structure which gives the intellectual pleasure characteristic of this branch of the genre.

They won't find it here. The identity of the murderer is allowed to drift into the story three-quarters of the way through. Neither the reader nor police have much to do with it. The killer's motivation is so perfunctorily sketched that it fails to convince. The ending is arbitrary, unsatisfying and suspiciously convenient. A good crime novel follows its own logic. For all its undoubted virtues, this one sometimes loses the scent.
hinzugefügt von KayCliff | bearbeitenIndependent, Andrew Taylor (Jun 17, 2004)
 
Hill is good at establishing the arcane web of connections in this investigation that result in wrong turnings and false leads. ... Fans of Morse and Midsomer will recognise this mix of rural calm and brutal carnage, choral music and pathology reports, and as the trilogy progresses may even learn to find in the steely gaze of Simon Serrailler some of the attraction that his sergeant finds so irresistible.
hinzugefügt von KayCliff | bearbeitenThe Observer, Tim Adams (Jun 6, 2004)
 
frustrating and disappointing that Hill should have chosen such a traditional type of crime novel (serial killer, police procedural) to extend her range. This is the crime of small, fictional worlds, rattling tea-cups, genteel suspicions, cherished hatreds, of mists on the lamp-lit heath, grand moral gestures and lightly treading footsteps - always more Midsomer than Moss Side; more Watson or Marsh, say, than Peace or McDermid.
hinzugefügt von KayCliff | bearbeitenThe Guardian, Robert Edric (May 29, 2004)
 

» Andere Autoren hinzufügen (7 möglich)

AutorennameRolleArt des AutorsWerk?Status
Susan HillHauptautoralle Ausgabenberechnet
Pacey, StevenErzählerCo-Autoreinige Ausgabenbestätigt
Du musst dich einloggen, um "Wissenswertes" zu bearbeiten.
Weitere Hilfe gibt es auf der "Wissenswertes"-Hilfe-Seite.
Gebräuchlichster Titel
Die Informationen stammen von der englischen "Wissenswertes"-Seite. Ändern, um den Eintrag der eigenen Sprache anzupassen.
Originaltitel
Alternative Titel
Ursprüngliches Erscheinungsdatum
Figuren/Charaktere
Die Informationen stammen von der englischen "Wissenswertes"-Seite. Ändern, um den Eintrag der eigenen Sprache anzupassen.
Wichtige Schauplätze
Die Informationen stammen von der englischen "Wissenswertes"-Seite. Ändern, um den Eintrag der eigenen Sprache anzupassen.
Wichtige Ereignisse
Zugehörige Filme
Preise und Auszeichnungen
Die Informationen stammen von der englischen "Wissenswertes"-Seite. Ändern, um den Eintrag der eigenen Sprache anzupassen.
Epigraph (Motto/Zitat)
Die Informationen stammen von der englischen "Wissenswertes"-Seite. Ändern, um den Eintrag der eigenen Sprache anzupassen.
The Various Haunts of men
Require the pencil, they defy the pen.

~ George Crabbe, The Borough

Widmung
Die Informationen stammen von der englischen "Wissenswertes"-Seite. Ändern, um den Eintrag der eigenen Sprache anzupassen.
For
My dearly loved Ghost
Erste Worte
Die Informationen stammen von der englischen "Wissenswertes"-Seite. Ändern, um den Eintrag der eigenen Sprache anzupassen.
"The Tape" Last week I found a letter from you. I didn't think I had kept any of them. I thought I had destroyed everything from you. But this one had somehow been overlooked.
Zitate
Letzte Worte
Die Informationen stammen von der englischen "Wissenswertes"-Seite. Ändern, um den Eintrag der eigenen Sprache anzupassen.
(Zum Anzeigen anklicken. Warnung: Enthält möglicherweise Spoiler.)
Hinweis zur Identitätsklärung
Verlagslektoren
Werbezitate von
Die Informationen stammen von der englischen "Wissenswertes"-Seite. Ändern, um den Eintrag der eigenen Sprache anzupassen.
Originalsprache
Anerkannter DDC/MDS
Anerkannter LCC

Literaturhinweise zu diesem Werk aus externen Quellen.

Wikipedia auf Englisch (2)

A woman vanishes in the fog up on 'the Hill', an area locally known for its tranquillity and peace. The police are not alarmed; people usually disappear for their own reasons. But when a young girl, an old man and even a dog disappear no one can deny that something untoward is happening in this quiet cathedral town. Young policewoman Freya Graffham is assigned to the case, she's new to the job, compassionate, inquisitive, dedicated and needs to know - perhaps too much.

Keine Bibliotheksbeschreibungen gefunden.

Buchbeschreibung
Zusammenfassung in Haiku-Form

Beliebte Umschlagbilder

Gespeicherte Links

Bewertung

Durchschnitt: (3.61)
0.5 1
1 5
1.5 3
2 20
2.5 14
3 88
3.5 38
4 149
4.5 13
5 43

Bist das du?

Werde ein LibraryThing-Autor.

 

Über uns | Kontakt/Impressum | LibraryThing.com | Datenschutz/Nutzungsbedingungen | Hilfe/FAQs | Blog | LT-Shop | APIs | TinyCat | Nachlassbibliotheken | Vorab-Rezensenten | Wissenswertes | 163,324,593 Bücher! | Menüleiste: Immer sichtbar